Inspiration: Clay Shirky’s How cognitive surplus will change the world

Standard

Source

Watch Clay Shirky’s TED Talk to learn more about the ideas in his book, Cognitive Surplus.  Again, what makes me so excited about Shirky’s work is that free time is now based on creativity instead of consumption.  Shirky explains that now, media tools let us create, connect, and share, so consuming isn’t the central focus of our leisure time.

Since I have such a problem allowing stupid, throwaway projects as “creative,” Shirky really does an amazing idea of explaining that creativity will always have a spectrum.  Instead of judging the results of creativity, he suggests we focus on the importance of people jumping over the gap. “The gap is between doing anything and doing nothing” (Source).

Have you watched a great TED Talk lately?

Review: Clay Shirky’s Cognitive Surplus: Creativity and Generosity in a Connected World

Standard

After watching his TED Talk on SOPA, I fell in love with Clay Shirky.  After reading the first 20 pages of his book, Cognitive Surplus: Creativity and Generosity in a Connected Age, I am now his biggest fan.

Cognitive Surplus is not a quick read and, in places, I had to put the book down and come back to it when I could really focus on the material.  Shirky explains that the change from a former world of consumption to a new world of connectivity has already happened; now, we have to think about the benefits and ramifications of this cultural change.  I approached the text a bit skeptically at first, as I felt that most Americans were still consuming as opposed to creating.  However, Shirky did a masterful job of persuading me through examples and studies that we live in a world where sitting back and mindlessly consuming television is taking a backseat to sharing, collaborating, and creating.  While I do feel that we’ve taken the first step into that world of creativity and generosity and connectivity, how far we’ve come from consuming is still unclear to me.

Image Credit

Shirky defines “creating,” and this helped me understand his conclusions a bit more.  He explains that even the stupidest creative act is still a creative act (Source).  With this definition in mind, I start to believe that yes, we do have more creators than consumers in our world today.  But my definition of “creativity” is based more on quality of the thing created, I suppose, so I had a difficult time accepting some of Shirky’s conclusions at first.  Then, I started to think about the examples in my own life.  My husband isn’t consuming during the hours he spends playing his war video games; he’s collaborating with his friends to achieve a collective goal.  Mark P. McDonald writes, “This book gives you a way to thinking about how people contribute their time, attention and knowledge and therefore how you can think about social media. In my opinion, this is THE BOOK to read if you are new to the subject of mass collaboration, social media, Web 2.0 etc.” (Source).  Read McDonald’s full book review here.

Now that I’ve read about the new, connected world I live in, I’m excited to re-read Daniel Pink’s A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future.  What are you reading this weekend?