Currently Reading: Eudora Welty’s Biography

Standard

Born and raised in “The City of Southern Charm,” it should come as no surprise that I am a lover of Southern short stories and novels.  So many fantastic authors have written about the American South: William Faulkner (my personal favorite), Flannery O’Connor, Harper Lee (also a Chi Omega), Truman Capote, and Tennessee Williams among talented others.

Image courtesy of cliff1066

Eudora Welty was never on my radar until my literature-obsessed father name-dropped her, and after hearing about a few of her short stories, I was excited to read her myself.  My mother, also a book lover, first read Welty’s biography and suggested I start with it and then move to The Optimist’s Daughter.  Welty was a photographer, a member of the Junior League, and a college-educated woman at a time when women didn’t attend college: the mid to late 1920s.  I cannot wait to read more about Welty and then move onto her short stories and fiction.  After procrastinating for several months (I’m more of a fiction girl), I am finally starting it tonight!

Click here to purchase Eudora Welty: A Biography by Suzanne Marrs.

Leave a Reply

