Currently Reading…

Standard

Chiara Ojeda, my fellow presentation-obsessed colleague, and I decided to do a series of blog posts together, interview-style, on some of the public speaking and presentation issues we see in our classes.  We are going to start by examining why our students are so opposed to our teachings on delivery, visual presentation, and content and how we can overcome those obstacles to force our students to become great presenters.

Luckily, the day Chiara and I began our co-blogging experience, I received three packages on my front door from the Orange County Library.

I am currently reading The Opposable Mind: How Successful Leaders Win Through Integrative Thinking by Roger Martin.  This book has really defined my first blog post with Chiara, as it has shaped my thinking on how we teachers can overcome the resistance of students.

Next, I plan to begin Thank You For Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us About the Art of Persuasion by Jay Heinrichs.  This will help me to more clearly explain persuasion for my students, and, I hope, allow me to win 100% of all arguments with my husband :)

Last on my list is The Culture Code: An Ingenious Way to Understand Why People Around the World Live and Buy as They Do by Dr. Clotaire Rapaille.  This text examines the culture “templates” that direct us all in our everyday lives so as to better understand people and their motivations.

What’s on your reading list?

Leave a Reply

