Currently Reading: Holiday Reads

Standard

I’m driving 6 hours from Orlando to my hometown this weekend to celebrate the holidays with my family.  I was delighted this afternoon for four early Christmas presents: four library books on my doorstep to accompany me back home.  This means that while I’m stuck in a teeny tiny farm community bordering both Alabama and Georgia, I will be doing something worthwhile: reading!

The reading list for my 2-week holiday vacation includes 2 fiction and 2 nonfiction books.  I’m ready to dive into Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf.  I’ve repeatedly heard that since I am obsessed with James Joyce, I’ll also love Woolf.  Also on my reading list: Truman Capote’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  While I appreciate Audrey Hepburn, the film is so loosely based on the novella that they might as well have given it a different title.  After reading Capote’s In Cold Blood this year, I am dying to read BAT.  Capote is a genius.  Norman Mailer said, “[Capote] is the most perfect writer of my generation, he writes the best sentences word for word, rhythm upon rhythm. I would not have changed two words in Breakfast at Tiffany’s which will become a small classic” (Source).

Frank Luntz’s Win and Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point are on the nonfiction list for the holiday, and I’ve heard so many great things about both books that my expectations are sky high.  I was first introduced to Frank Luntz through a fascinating NPR interview/article, and I’ve heard Gladwell is an inspiration behind the Heath brothers’ Made To Stick, which was one of the best books I read in 2011.

What are you reading over the holiday break?

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading: Holiday Reads

Leave a Reply

