In The News… Links of the Week

Standard

Twitter provides me with a wealth of information on a daily basis, so I thought I’d start bookmarking each week’s most incredible news and articles.  This particular collection of good reads is all about public speaking and leadership.  Articles include making 2012 the year of speaking fearlessly; rhetorical devices used by Steve Jobs in presentations; and the one leadership quality that will make you or break you.

“Make 2012 Your Year of Speaking Fearlessly” by American Speaker Blog is a wonderful examination of mind over matter when it comes to public speaking.  ASB suggests three things in 2012 to help you speak more fearlessly: fake your confidence until you finally do feel confident about public speaking; study your favorite presenters; and expect to fail and give a boring, terribly presentation at least once.  ASB gave such great advice that after reading this article, I immediately followed the blog.

“16 Rhetorical Devices Used by Steve Jobs” was written by Nancy Duarte back in March of 2011.  Duarte insists that “rhetoric isn’t a bad thing” and explains many communication devices such as anaphora, aporia, and antitheton (Source).  Even though I earned B.A. and M.A. degrees in English, I hadn’t heard of some of these rhetorical devices before.  It’s a must-read for rhetoricians and budding scholars alike.

Forbes’ “This One Leadership Quality Will Make or Break You” intrigued me.  Can you guess the quality?  Author Mike Myatt knows what he’s talking about: he’s a leadership advisor to CEOs and boards and is the author of Leadership Matters.  After reading his article, I totally agree with him!

These three articles are important to my 2012 because of my resolutions.  First, I want to be a stronger, more fearless speaker and push myself to present in new ways.  In 2012, I plan to deliver my first Faculty Development workshop for my co-workers AND deliver my first PechaKucha Orlando PK.  Second, I want to learn more about my craft, and Duarte’s article incorporates my love of public speaking with my love of rhetoric.  Lastly, I want to become a stronger leader to develop my ethos as a presenter and to be a better guide my students in the classroom.  What are your 2012 resolutions?

2 thoughts on “In The News… Links of the Week

Leave a Reply

