My 2011 in Review

Standard

2011 was the best year of my life, and it’s because this was a year of so many wonderful firsts.  This year, I purchased my first house and my first car with my husband, Mitchell.  I joined my first gym and found that I truly love exercising, especially running, yoga, and Zumba.  I began writing my first blog, got my first Orlando library card with home delivery (!!!), and, for the first time, spent my afternoons reading exclusively nonfiction.

Image Credits: Books; Car; Door; PensYoga; Zumba

Through these firsts and others, I’ve grown significantly as an employee, wife, family member, volunteer, and friend.  I’ve learned things about myself that surprised me.  Little discoveries included my ability to successfully take on new leadership roles such as Chair of Public Relations for the Junior League of Greater Orlando and my ability to become a better public speaker, motivator, and teacher.  Buying a house led me to discover that I love gardening.  Buying a house also led to the adoption of our third little baby, Sailor.  Blogging opened a whole new world of wonderful people and ideas.  2011 was truly a year of firsts and discovery, so to sum it up in one word, 2011 would have to be all about growth.

Image Credit

If 2011 was a year of growth, 2012 will be a year of pursuit.  In 2012, I will celebrate my 10 year high school reunion, and the new year rings in with it a sense of urgency.  For those of you who have already celebrated your 10 year class reunion, you know what I mean when I say “sense of urgency.”  Life is passing by much more quickly than I anticipated, and I have so much left to learn and to do!  Because 2012 is closing in on me, I plan to pursue many things in the new year: career, education, marriage, friendships, leadership positions, and health and happiness.  Most importantly, I want to keep pursuing a more meaningful understanding of myself as well as presentation, communication, and design.

What one word best describes your 2011?  What is the one thing you hope for most in 2012?  Please Tweet me your response!  You can find me at @alexrister1.

2 thoughts on “My 2011 in Review

Leave a Reply

