Currently Reading…

Standard

When I arrived home from work yesterday, I had three blue packages on my doorstep.  You know what that means… another home delivery from the library.  Titles include Design For How People Learn by Julie Dirksen, Strengths Based Leadership by Tom Rath and Barry Conchie, and Tribal Leadership: Leveraging Natural Groups to Build a Thriving Organization by Dave Logan, John King, and Halee Fischer-Wright.

Design For How People Learn is a book my friend and colleague Chiara Ojeda purchased and didn’t connect with.  I’m always a believer in second chances, especially with books, because my dad always taught me that you have to read a book at the right time in your life.  I hope that the text will be a great tool for teaching, so I promise to give it a thorough review (maybe even including some of Chiara’s dislikes).

Strengths Based Leadership (still confused about why it’s not Strengths-Based Leadership, but maybe that’s just my inner grammar nut) should be a wonderful read, as it is all about compiling Gallup scientists’ studies, polls, surveys, and research to explain the qualities of effective leadership.  I’m obsessed with using leadership tools in my Professional Communication and Presentation classes, as I think leadership and effective presentation are inextricably linked.  A motivating leader has to be a motivating public speaker, and if a person is a strong presenter, he or she is likely also a strong leader.

I’m excited to read Tribal Leadership because one review suggests sharing this book with Type A personalities… that’s me!  Since it relates to both profit and non-profit industries, I can utilize these strategies in my career as well as in my volunteer organizations.

What great books are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

