7 Deadly Sins of Visual Design on Slideshare

Standard

Our goal in Professional Communication and Presentation is to examine the broken presentation medium and to see how we can repair it.  In class yesterday, my students and I discussed the 7 Deadly Sins of Visual Design.  I finally tweaked the slideshow for an online format and uploaded to Slideshare.  Check out the presentation below:

Source

Note: The 7 Deadly Sins of Visual Design slideshow looks best if viewed “Full Screen”

Because my students ask, and because you might be wondering, I get all of my photos from Compfight (a Flickr search engine).  Because I teach at a for-profit school, I only use “Commercial” images both in the classroom and on my blog.  You can probably use Creative Commons images depending upon the type of presentation you are creating.  Learn about and respect all licenses!  Note: The exceptions to Compfight in the Slideshare presentation above are the “Slide Sloth” images (all from a “Google search”).

My typefaces come from DaFont.com.  My favorite font of all time is Komika Axis.  You’ll see me use it in most of my Professional Communication and Presentation lectures as well as in my Visual Resume.

What other visual design “sins” can you think of?

2 thoughts on “7 Deadly Sins of Visual Design on Slideshare

Leave a Reply

