In The News… Links of the Week

Standard

Twitter provides me with a wealth of information on a daily basis, so I began bookmarking each week’s best news and articles.  This week’s interesting articles come from Phil Waknell, Ethos3, and Inside Higher Ed by way of Chiara Ojeda.

Image Credit

Phil Waknell has become such a wonderful mentor for me in my personal life; when I was struggling with an important presentation issue, I reached out to him for advice.  He is such a kind, helpful, and passionate person, and with his wealth of knowledge and experience (he’s a TED presentation coach!), if you have any interest in presentation or public speaking, I encourage you all to begin reading his website, Phil Presents, and to follow him on Twitter @philpresents.  This week, Waknell wrote a fantastic article: “Handle With CARE: 4 Keys To Convince Any Audience.”  In “Handle with CARE,” Waknell discusses the four keys to getting an audience to change, and he uses the acronym C.A.R.E. to help us understand these concepts.

Ethos3 is one of my favorite presentation design companies in the world.  These folks are people I would love to meet in person, hang out with on the weekend, nerd out to public speaking philosophy with… They are incredible.  This week, Ethos3 wrote an amazing article called “How to Engage Your Audience.”  Ethos3 Tweeted, “Open a knowledge gap, and then close it in an interesting, unexpected way” (Source).  This is just one of the interesting tips Ethos3 blogs about in “How to Engage Your Audience.” If you have to give a presentation, and if you want your audience to care about your presentation, this is a must-read.

Image Credit

For all my superteachers, Chiara Ojeda linked me to “Some Students Need to Fail,” an article written by Melissa Nicholas for Inside Higher Ed.  This week, I’ve had so many online student issues that yesterday, in the words of Chiara, my students “broke me.”  After one thing after another after another, I finally got home last night around 7:30 PM and breathed a much-needed sigh of relief after reading this article.

Nicholas writes, “Sally should fail because she did not complete the work; she did not learn what the course proposed to teach; she was not educated. If the university allows Sally to pass, we will be failing her in a much more serious way: we will be failing her as an institution that is deeply committed to learning, failing her as mentors, failing her as human beings” (Source).

No matter how many migraine headaches I have; no matter how many working lunches I take because of student IMs; no matter how many rude and disrespectful student emails I receive, I will never be the kind of teacher who just gives a student a passing grade if that student hasn’t earned every single percentage point.  I believe in higher education, and I will never sacrifice my hard work to get here; my profession; my own education; my beliefs; or my high standards just because a student doesn’t want to fail.

What great articles have you read because of Twitter this week?

Leave a Reply

