Currently Reading… Update on Reality Is Broken

Standard

On the flight back to Orlando from Phoenix, Arizona, I had a chance to dive into Jane McGonigal‘s Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change The World after I finished the latest issues of Vogue, Lucky, and Allure magazines.  My superstar student, Will Kim, gave me a copy of the book as a “thank you” present a few months ago, and I blogged about my excitement to receive the book exactly one month ago on June 16.

After the flight, I’m now almost finished with the book.  It’s inspiring, eye-opening, and motivating.  It completely changed my perspective on my husband’s video game playing.  It changed the way I think about the current system of education by actually offering realistic solutions.  Look for my official review soon; in the meantime, you need to read this book immediately.  Purchase your copy here.  I’m serious.  Buy this book right now.

Convention was amazing!  I went as the Recruitment Advisor for my sorority’s chapter at Rollins College, and I learned a heck of a lot and came back excited for recruitment in January.  Though it wasn’t an actual “vacation” (I worked from sunup to sundown each day that I was there), it was a wonderful break from working: answering emails, grading, and being in the office or on campus.  Now that I’m home, I’m ready to get back to the job I love so much.  Check back later this week for an official Chi Omega National Convention update.

I also have a super exciting announcement!  Look for it in the coming weeks on Creating Communication.  I seriously cannot wait to share this news with all of you.

What have you been reading lately?  What new blogs, articles, or ideas did you discover while I was away?  Please share your findings with me!

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading… Update on Reality Is Broken

  1. I’ve been reading “Reality is Broken.” I loved McGonigal’s Ted Talk. Good stuff. I’m also reading Kawasaki’s “The Art of the Start,” Picolt’s “House Rules,” and Conrad’s Our House. I never meant to be a simultaneous multibook reader. Things just got out of hand.

    • Hey there! I was just about to post McGonigal’s TED Talk today to share it with others. She is so great, isn’t she? Do you like Kawasaki’s book? I haven’t heard of that one… Glad you are able to mix some fiction in there, too! “Things just got out of hand” is the story of my life when it comes to reading! LOL! Please share your reviews with me once you’re finished. Thanks, Alex

Leave a Reply

