Currently Reading… Bryan Goodwin’s Simply Better

Standard

While doing a little research on John Medina’s Brain Rules, I stumbled upon an article on a website called ASCD.  After investigating the website, I discovered that ASCD stands for the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development and is an organization dedicated to education and developing an educator’s learning, teaching, and leadership potential (Source).  The article was based on a book written by Bryan Goodwin called Simply Better: Doing What Matters Most to Change the Odds for Student Success, and the entire first chapter was actually previewed on the ASCD website in this article.  This first chapter hooked me by its title alone: “Guaranteeing Challenging, Engaging, and Intentional Instruction.” After reading the entire Chapter 1, I was blown away.  Read it here.  It ties back to a book I recently read that really influenced my teaching philosophy: Carol Dweck’s Mindset.

After reading Chapter 1, I was so fascinated that I wanted to look into the author.  Bryan Goodwin has an impressive background.  Learn more about him here and here.  Personally, I love that Goodwin’s degrees are in rhetoric, communication studies, and professional writing because I pursued similar college degrees.  His company, Mid-continent Regional Educational Laboratory (McREL), is a nonprofit organization dedicated to educational research and development.  Clearly, many people are inspired by Goodwin and the work they do at McREL because it was awarded one of Denver, Colorado’s Top Work Places in 2012.  Learn more about McREL here.

Through my researching, investigating, reading, and stalking, I came to really admire Goodwin’s work.  I bookmarked the article and vowed to purchase his book soon.  But, as luck would have it, the week I read the article, a few sweetheart co-workers voted for me to win a faculty award at work, and for my prize, I was allowed to pick a “trinket” of my choice.  What did I pick?  You guessed it…

I’m re-reading Chapter One, and I can’t wait to dive into the remaining chapters on “Ensuring Curricular Paths to Success” and “Creating High-Performance School Cultures” among others.  As soon as I’m finished, I’ll write my review so that you can determine whether or not you’d like to purchase your own copy of Simply Better.

Leave a Reply

