Presentation Preview: New Storytelling Slides

Standard

This week, I’ve been working on revamping my storytelling lecture.  I have been experimenting with different colors and shapes, and this is what I’ve come up with so far:

story1

My students must work to incorporate storytelling in each and every single of their presentations.  Though many presentations are fact-based and rich in data and information, the only way to resonate with audiences is to weave in story.  Since I teach business students, using story in a presentation is difficult and often frustrating.
story2

A presentation, though, isn’t just a report.  It isn’t 100% story (cinema, literature), but it isn’t 100% report (data, information).  Presentations fall right in the middle.  A great presentation is a blend of the two.

story3

Why is it that my students can watch the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy back-to-back on the weekend… but they hate sitting through an 8-hour day of class?  How can we watch an entire season of Breaking Bad on Netflix without losing interest… but we can’t stay focused on a two-hour presentation?  It’s important to dissect why story is engaging so that we can use it effectively in our presentations to keep our audience’s attention.

story4

I am using four slides to build in each quality.  It was tough for me to figure out how I wanted to display the information on an all-text slide, and I’m still not 100% happy with the results.

While I keep tweaking my storytelling slides, tell me what you’ve been working on lately!  Do you have any beautiful slides you’ve posted to Slideshare?

2 thoughts on “Presentation Preview: New Storytelling Slides

Leave a Reply

