Links of the Week: 2013.07

Standard

This is our first “Links of the Week” in a month!  You can tell I am knee-deep in reading for school as opposed to reading for leisure…

Last week, Ethos3 blogged about “5 Habits of a Great Presenter.”  I totally agree with all five of these habits.  Ethos3 believes a strong presenter 1) wakes up early; 2) reads; 3) rehearses; 4) eats well; and 5) thinks positively.  I agree and firmly believe a great presenter is an “extra mile” person.  In order to be a wonderful presenter, you must have a serious work ethic combined with a love of constructive criticism, tweaking, and revising.  Read Ethos3’s take on effective presentation habits here.  Would you add any habits to Ethos3’s list?

linksoftheweek

I also enjoyed Nick Morgan’s “7 Speaking Disasters You Will Experience and What To Do About Them.”  Public Words is a must-read website for any public speaking and presentation professional, and this most recent article is one of many great reads you’ll find on the website.  “7 Speaking Disasters” helps you cope with your mind going blank, technology issues, audience size, and hecklers.  After reading the article, I definitely want to incorporate some of Morgan’s material in my presentation class.  When we talk about presentation anxiety, my students really do need some concrete ways to handle a worst case scenario speaking situation… Did you see your worst public speaking disaster on this list?  Can you think of any additional ways to cope with these seven issues?

Last, but not least, is an article for my superteachers.  I recently began following Ellen Breman (@ChattyProf) on Twitter.  She is a tenured communication instructor in Seattle, and her blog features some really important student-teacher issues.  Most recently, Breman posted, “I’m Failing by One Point – and I May be the Target of Discrimination.”  A student asked for Breman’s help on this complicated issue, and her response to the student was perfect.  I actually wanted to print one section of her reply to keep on my desk… Breman writes, “It was incredibly easy for the student to blame me for the outcome, rather than examine his/her contribution to the outcome. So putting the other issues aside, I ask you–with respect and care–to please think about what led to the outcome of your D” (Source).  I would always suggest that students begin a dialogue with their instructors by asking questions as opposed to accusing and finger-pointing.  What advice would you add to Breman’s feedback to the student?

What great articles have you been reading this week?

One thought on “Links of the Week: 2013.07

Leave a Reply

