Janine di Giovanni’s What I saw in the war

Standard

While I haven’t seen as many TED Talks as I would like, I try to watch at least one new Talk a week.  With the release of TED 2013 talks, I’ve been checking out a lot of brand new ones from the latest conference.  Today, however, I stumbled across a TEDxWomen Talk from 2012.  “What I saw in the war” by reporter Janine di Giovanni is absolutely amazing from start to finish.  Watch it below:

Source

Janine di Giovanni has been all over the world: Bosnia, Rwanda, Syria… She uses storytelling to try to make the death toll real for her audience.  She says, ““My role [as a war correspondent] is to bring a voice to people who are voiceless [and] to shine a light in the darkest corners of the world” (Source).  If you can watch the presentation once to appreciate the content, watch it twice to appreciate di Giovanni’s delivery.  She is composed and poised despite the horrific, gut-wrenching topic.  I’d also like to point out her use of a single note card.  YES, you can use notes in a presentation and even on the TED stage.  Sometimes, my students feel that the use of notecards is weak.  I think it shows a commitment to your audience.

What did you like most about “What I saw in the war” by Janine di Giovanni?  Have you watched any great TED Talks over the weekend?

Leave a Reply

