Creating Communication’s Year 3 Goals

Standard

Can you believe Creating Communication celebrates its 2nd anniversary this September?  It’s hard to believe a blog born out of my desire to spread the presentation revolution with others has been such a blessing in my life.  Whether you’ve banned bullets or broken out of terrible template-land, I hope Creating Communication has also been a blessing in your life… or at least to the lives of the audience members you present for.

Chesecake

Image Credit

Last year, I created some specific goals for the blog that I’d like to reflect upon today.  I wanted to 1) develop better content navigation; 2) include more reader questions, feedback, input, and contributions; 3) nail down a concrete focus area; 4) keep writing every single day, but ensure each day has a quality post; and 5) be thankful.

To address my five goals from last year, I believe I fully realized #3 and came as close as I could to meeting #4 and #5.  The blog has a clear focus area which is reflected in the banner and in the content.  While I haven’t posted every day, there are enough posts per week to help readers learn new concepts and to explore the world of 21st century public speaking and presentation.  Lastly, I am so, so, so thankful for this blog and the connections I’ve made.  I’ve had the opportunity to host Nancy Duarte for a Skype interview with my class.  I’ve welcomed Steve Cherches into my campus class to meet my students.  My slides have been awarded “Top Presentation of the Day” on Slideshare, and some blog posts have been featured on Speaking.Alltop.com’s “Most Topular Stories.”  Garr Reynolds Tweeted about the blog for goodness sakes!  I am lucky, and I thank YOU for reading.

This year, I’d like to keep on goal and to add two additional ones.

1) Develop better content navigation.  I want to work on where information is stored and how it is presented for even easier navigation.  I hope to work with a web designer in 2013/2014 to create a layout that is original, beautiful, and user-friendly.

2) Tie my blog to my graduate research.  My goal is to eventually do academic research in the area of professional communication and presentation; public speaking; visual presentation; and teaching/learning.  I would love to begin making connections between what I’m writing on my blog and what I’m researching, studying, and learning while a graduate Interpersonal Communication student.

3) Incorporate guest articles.  When I first began my blog, I began working on collaborative projects with a few of my co-workers.  I love collaboration, and learning from others inspires me.  While I don’t know how to begin, I’d love to see more guest authors contributing to Creating Communication in 2013 and 2014.

What would you like to see from Creating Communication’s third year?

9 thoughts on “Creating Communication’s Year 3 Goals

  1. Congrats Alex…! You’ve done a great job with the blog, you’re a fantastic teacher, and I’m thrilled to have met you. Nice to celebrate the time and energy you’ve put into your work, and how many people have been impacted by it. And… more to come!!! (Thanks so much for the mention. It really was my pleasure to attend your class.)

    Happy 3-year anniversary!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

