Currently Reading…

Standard

On my quest to find the perfect public speaking book for my revamped online and campus class, I’ve read a lot of great things, a lot of mediocre things, and a lot of bad, bad things.  Nothing has been as bad as the public speaking and presentation textbooks out there today!  Traditional public speaking textbooks suck, and they don’t work well for my students.

This week, I was excited to find that my university’s library carried two books on my reading list: Alexei Kapterev’s Presentation Secrets and Carmine Gallo’s The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs.  (Clearly “presentation secrets” is the term of the moment…)

presentationbooks

Two weeks ago, I created a bracket of books I am considering, and both of these were on that list!  It was great to discover them both on campus today.  After reading these books last week, I’m glad to have a new pile to dive into.

So far, I’ve found Kapterev’s Presentation Secrets to be organized in a classic textbook style… I don’t know if I will like this or not.  I did notice that he thanked Nancy Duarte in his acknowledgements, so that’s always a plus.  Gallo’s book, naturally, focuses entirely on what we can learn from Steve Jobs, so I don’t know if this approach will work well for my students just yet.  I’ll be able to finish reading both of these by the end of the week, so I’ll keep you posted on my thoughts.

What books would you like to use to teach basic public speaking and presentation courses to college students?

One thought on “Currently Reading…

Leave a Reply

