Want To Be Happy? Be Grateful by David Steindl-Rast

Standard

Thank you for being so patient, Creating Communication readers, during this overwhelmingly busy time in my life!  Work has been off-the-charts busy with overhauling our online course; teaching extra classes; and handling more student issues than usual.  My graduate class has also been crazy as we wrap up our semester.  My final research paper was due yesterday, and our class final exam will be next week.  Because I will be so busy studying this week and over the weekend, I elected to stay in Orlando for Thanksgiving as opposed to driving to my hometown.  Though I am sad I won’t see family, I am exhausted.  I need a break, and I can’t wait to spend some time alone.  Do you ever feel that way?

This Thanksgiving, I am focusing on slowing down and being grateful despite the frenzy going on around me.  Brother David Steindl-Rast’s TED Talk could not have come at a more perfect time for me.  Called “Want To Be Happy? Be Grateful,” the Benedictine monk teaches us how to calm ourselves and to focus on giving thanks.  Check out his beautiful lesson below:

Source

This Thanksgiving, I am going to stop, stand still in the middle of the tornado that is my life right now, and be thankful for every single blessing I have been taking for granted.  Whether you will be traveling and spending time with family or, like me, home alone, I hope you will find some time to stop, meditate, and be thankful.

Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Leave a Reply

