Todd Cherches’ 14 Books That Will Make You More Innovative in 2014

Standard

This morning, I was happy to receive an email from my favorite Steve Cherches.  That email contained a link to “14 Books That Will Make You More Innovative in 2014” by Steve’s brother, Todd Cherches.  I devoured the article not only because I am a reader but also because of its opening paragraph.  Todd writes:

“A lot of people use the words “innovation” and “creativity” interchangeably, but my favorite definition helps differentiate the two: “Innovation is the value-added application of a creative idea” ” (Source).

Some of the books on Todd’s reading list are ones I know and love such Nancy Duarte’s Resonate and Slide:ologyDesign For How People Learn by Julie Dirksen; Dan Roam’s books; The Naked Presenter and Presentation Zen by Garr Reynolds.

reading

Source

Some of the books on Todd’s reading list are books I’ve been hearing a lot about but haven’t yet had the chance to read such as Susan Weinschenk’s two 100 Things books; Sunni Brown’s book on doodling; and a Seth Godin (always mandatory).

Some of the books, I am surprised to say, I have never heard of!  These include White Space is Not Your Enemy: A Beginner’s Guide to Communicating Visually Through Graphic, Web, and Multimedia Design (give me this right now) and books by Noah Scalin, Adam Bryant, Brad Szollose, Bryan W. Mattimore, and Adam Grant.  This is the chunk of Todd’s list I am most excited about.  I love being introduced to new books that I’ve never heard of that fit my teaching and learning focus.  Thanks, Todd!

What books would you add to Todd’s “14 Books, 365 Days of Innovation” reading list for 2014?

2 thoughts on “Todd Cherches’ 14 Books That Will Make You More Innovative in 2014

  1. Much thanks for your enthusiastic words of appreciation, Alex! So glad you found my list valuable, and I hope your followers do as well. I always appreciate and enjoy all the amazing resources you share with others, so I’m pleased to be able to give something back…

Leave a Reply

