Alexei Kapterev’s Why Presentations Suck

Standard

Alexei Kapterev is “a Moscow-based presentations expert, author of the book Presentation Secrets and the world’s most famous presentation about presentations Death by Powerpoint. He is currently teaching presentation skills at the Graduate School of Business at the Moscow State University and running a small private consulting practice” (Source).

I follow Kapterev on Slideshare, and he just released yet another beautifully designed deck of slides jam packed full of important presentation information.  Check it out below:

Source

You can also check out Kapterev’s TEDxKyiv talk called “World Class Self Education.”  Watch it here:

Source

Since Kapterev is an expert on presentations, and since this education comes not from a classroom but from his own self study for 6 years, this TEDx Talk perfectly captures his experience, background, story, and credibility.  I also love this concept because I am finding it to be true in my own life.  The things I study and teach myself are the things giving me a world-class education.  And this is obviously working for him if his book is on the shelves next to Nancy Duarte’s Resonate!

What rings true for you from Kapterev’s Slideshare presentation or his TEDx Talk?

3 thoughts on “Alexei Kapterev’s Why Presentations Suck

  1. Gary Bisaga

    Alex, glad to see you back after your break. I am really excited: after 30 years of engineering presentations and 250+ sermons preached to really learn to improve myself. Between you, Garr, Nancy, and others, I am seeing ways to improve what I’ve been doing for years. I’m having fun with it and hope my audiences get more from my presentations. Keep up the great work!

    • Hey Gary! Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment… It is great to hear even after 30 years of presenting, you want to continue to push yourself and to grow as a communicator. I feel the same way about presenting! That growth mindset is so important, I believe, for the sake of our audience. From all of the presentations you’ve delivered in the past, which ones have been your favorites? Good to hear from you! Alex

      • Gary Bisaga

        That’s a great question! I would say it’s been some teaching situation – maybe leading a workshop on software internationalization a couple of years ago, or some of the sermons I’ve preached. Come to think of it, I think it was a completely impromptu street preaching session, together with a total stranger I had just met, in Guatemala, and in Spanish (in which I’m fairly fluent). I think it was the exhilaration of the situation, believing strongly in what we were doing, and knowing the subject matter well.

        In fact, I have one tomorrow – a remote presentation, presenting some new capabilities with our API. This is my first chance to use the stuff I’ve been learning – stories, effective full-bleed images, Takahashi method. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

