Currently Reading: How To Deliver A TED Talk

Standard

Summertime in Florida means plenty of trips to the beach.  So far this summer, I’ve been to New Smyrna, Cocoa Beach, and Honeymoon Island in Dunedin.  All of this beaching for me means relaxing with a book.  I read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (disappointing) and started reading the book my brother gave me called Kafka On The Shore by Haruki Murakami (amazing).  Mostly, though, I stick to nonfiction.

While beaching with my husband, I re-read Jeremey Donovan’s How To Deliver A TED Talk with a focus on the upcoming revamp of Professional Communication and Presentation.  I highlighted many places that link our current class (a presentation class using Nancy Duarte’s Resonate) with our future class (a self presentation class based on Pamela Slim’s Body Of Work).

TEDBook

Re-reading Donovan’s book with a focus on how to blend the old class with the new made me pick up on vastly different pages and excerpts than when I read it the first time.  For example, I want to explain that communicating your professional persona and being able to present yourself and your personal brand to others is a challenge in the era of social media and texting.  Donovan says, “Those who learn how to communicate offline will have a better chance of being heard and of making a difference in an ever-more crowded world” (Source).  This really struck a chord with me, and I began to see how the blend of old class and new class might make sense structurally.

Donovan’s Tip #1 in the book, “Everybody has an idea worth spreading” is key for the revamp of Professional Communication and Presentation because everyone must also be able to spread their professional persona and to make their personal brand into a story or an idea worth sharing.  His second tip on developing a “speaking persona” resonated with me because I think that in class, we can link a professional persona with a speaking persona.  Donovan gives a list of categories of speaking personas that I think any student can understand and connect with.  I have an idea for a revamp of our old TED Analysis Presentation assignment in asking students to figure out what their speaking persona will be and finding a TED Talk with a speaker whose persona is similar to their own.  This will help incorporate TED Talks into the class with a focus this time on professional and speaking personas.

I also liked Donovan’s section in Chapter 1’s “Organizing Your Talk” on story, so I think another presentation my students can focus on in the reboot of the class is developing a compelling narrative that inspires and connects with the audience’s deepest rooted needs and desires.  Chapter Two’s Prompts on pages 48-50 can serve as an exercise and a basis for narrative presentations at the beginning of the new Professional Communication and Presentation class which will feed into the overall narrative students will tell in their Professional Persona Projects based on Slim’s Body of Work.

What was your favorite part of Donovan’s How To Deliver A TED Talk?  Can you make any additional connections between Donovan’s book and Slim’s Body of Work?

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading: How To Deliver A TED Talk

  1. Alex, I think this is an awesome book — I interviewed Jeremey a few months ago at http://blog.indezine.com/2013/12/how-to-deliver-ted-talk-conversation.html — about this book, and my main question was whether there’s a difference in preparing for any other presentation compared to a TED talk. And Jeremey also indicated that this book can be used by anyone who has no intention to do a TED talk.

    I also love Jeremey’s new book, Speaker Leader Champion.

Leave a Reply

