Wednesday Challenge: Best Public Speaking Compliment

Standard

On Wednesdays, I am facilitating a brand new audience-centered series called The Wednesday Challenge.  I’ll give you a prompt, and you leave your response in the “Comments” section.  The prompt might be a question or it might be an activity.  I’ll share the best comment along with a new prompt the following Wednesday.

Last Wednesday, I asked you to share the worst slide you’d ever created.  When I began teaching at Full Sail University, I’d never used Keynote or a Mac before.  Once I discovered it, I turned into a Craft template junkie.  For months, before I was introduced to the work of Garr Reynolds and Nancy Duarte, I created slide after slide of this.  YUCK!

wednesdaychallenge

This week’s Wednesday Challenge is a question:

Tell me the best compliment you’ve ever received from an audience member on your presentation or public speaking abilities.

I’ll share the best compliment with you next week.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Challenge: Best Public Speaking Compliment

  1. After teaching at business schools, I often get asked “when are you going to train the other teachers to present like that?” I take that as a compliment.

    But perhaps the best I ever had was a young tech student who followed my course and won a pitch contest, and told me: “You changed my life.”

    Comments like that make it all worthwhile.

  2. Like Phil, I often get the “can you please teach our other teachers to do this?” comment. But, the comment that impacted me the most was from a fellow teacher and colleague. I am going to leave the expletive out of this anecdote, but I once delivered a visual design for teachers workshop at our school and a fellow colleague had this to say:

    “I’ve been to countless workshops and presentations, and pardon my French, but that was the best F***ing workshop I’ve ever been to.”

    What impacted me so much was that this individual was someone I know my students look up to as a leader and strong educator. Hearing that very candid and heartfelt comment not only helped me see that yes, some people “get” it, but it also inspired me to continue sharing my perspective with others.

Leave a Reply

